Skip Navigation

Concealed Carry Licensing

On July 9, 2013, Public Act 98-63, the Firearm Concealed Carry Act, became Illinois state law. Beginning January 2014, the State of Illinois began issuing concealed carry permits in order to comply with U.S. Constitutional mandates. This course will satisfy the legal training requirements for eligible residents who wish to apply for permission to carry a concealed firearm.

Spring 2018 Course Descriptions and Schedule Information

Course Prerequisites and Special Notes

Participants in this class must be at least 21 years of age and if a resident of the state of Illinois, be eligible to possess a valid FOID card. Range qualification will take place at a shooting range during the last class session. Details about the range will be discussed by the instructor on the first night of class. Those who own their own weapon will be expected to bring it to the range, along with ammunition for qualification. Based on availability, participants who do NOT own a handgun may be able to rent a weapon at a small additional fee in order to complete the range qualification. Students interested in utilizing this option should discuss availability with the instructor on the first night of class.

The 12- and 8-hour trainings (CPER 42 and CPER 41) are also available and are listed as department consent. Proof of prior training MUST be received before a student can register for either section. Call (847) 543-2615 for more information.

For participants with no prior training or who would like to refresh previously learned skills, the 16-hour training program is required. This course will meet during the week or on weekends, including range time for the final session. All participants will be required to qualify on the range and will attend classroom instruction with topics covering State and Federal Laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry and transportation of a firearm as well as weapons handling as defined in the statute and administrative rules.

The College of Lake County is a weapons-free location.

Students are prohibited by law from bringing firearms to campus. This includes all buildings and parking lots. Students should NOT bring their firearms on campus or to class. Weapons should only be brought to the final class meeting, which takes place at a shooting range off campus.

For participants with prior training, please refer to the chart below to see what training is accepted by the College of Lake County. A maximum of 8 hours of prior training can be accepted. If you have completed two different trainings, each worth four hours of credit, you can submit both trainings for 8 hours of credit.

Any previously completed training must be authenticated by the College of Lake County prior to a student attending class. All documentation or certificates proving completed prior training must be submitted to CLC via email at CPEInfo@clcillinois.edu or delivered in person to office T317 at the Grayslake campus. CLC must receive these documents no less than 5 business days prior to the start date of any class.

Please contact Personal Enrichment if you have additional questions.

 
Training Class/Qualification Hours of Credit Accepted
Illinois Hunter Safety Course 4 hours
Utah Concealed Carry 4 hours
Florida Concealed Carry 4 hours
Nevada Concealed Carry 4 hours
Missouri Concealed Carry 4 hours
Kentucky Concealed Carry 4 hours
Michigan Concealed Carry 4 hours
Chicago Firearms Safety Course 4 hours
NRA Basic Pistol 8 hours
NRA Personal Protection in the Home 8 hours
NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home 8 hours
Active, Retired, or Honorably Discharged member of the U.S. Armed Forces 8 hours
 

All classes are not offered every semester.