Skip Navigation

College News

Art Gallery announces winners in 37th Annual Student Art Competition

by Public Relations and Marketing | Published Apr 27, 2018

The winning artists in the 37th Annual CLC Student Art Competition were announced at the opening reception April 6. The juried exhibit features painting, drawing, computer graphics, photography, ceramics, jewelry, digital media and sculpture. It runs through May 5. The gallery will be closed for Summer Session while the library is being renovated.

Works included in the exhibit were selected by Norbert Marszalek, a Chicago-based artist, writer and co-founder of “Neoteric Art,” an online art magazine.

  • Emerging 3D Artist Award winner Juan Guzman’s mixed media entry, “Danger Lake.”Merit Awards: Claire Anderson, Devin Dixon, Michael Flores, Janet Kemp and Rachel Voorhees.
  • Emerging 2D Artist Award: Claire Anderson
  • Emerging 3D Artist Award: Juan Guzman. Photo: His mixed media entry, “Danger Lake.”
  • Ceramics Award: Laura Jenels

The Lake County Art League presented the following awards:

  • Roberta Ulrich-deOliveira, 1st Place Phoebe Boyd Award 
  • Romee Lim, 2nd place
  • Rachel Voorhees, 3rd place
  • Honorable Mention: Laura Jenels, Shu Chuan Chaing, Shayna Elekman, Jehu Islaf, Lia Schulz.

The Robert T. Wright Community Gallery of Art on the Grayslake Campus is located at 19351 W. Washington St. For the closest access, please park in Lot 1 on the north side of campus and enter through the Technology Building entrance (T1). The gallery is committed to displaying the works of Illinois artists and increasing the visibility of nationally known artists in Lake County.

Gallery hours are Monday through Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to 9 p.m.; Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. The gallery is closed Sundays. For more information, call the Communication Arts, Humanities and Fine Arts division at (847) 543-2040.