Skip Navigation

College News

College announces winners of the 2019 high school Academic Challenge

by Public Relations and Marketing | Published Feb 21, 2019

More than 140 students from seven Lake County high schools competed in the annual Academic Challenge competition Feb. 8 at the College of Lake County. The regional competition pitted the area’s brightest students against each other in tests covering seven academic areas, including English, math and the sciences.

The first- and second-place finishers in each category, and the top two teams from each division, will advance to the North Chicago Sectional Competition March 8 at Vernon Hills High School.

Participating high schools were divided into two divisions based on enrollment: fewer than 1,500 students, and 1,500 students or greater (unlimited). In Division 1,500, the top three teams were, in order, Vernon Hills, Wauconda and Grayslake Central. In the Unlimited division, the top finisher was Stevenson, followed by Deerfield and Libertyville.


Unlimited Division Individual Results

Biology winners were Akash Kumar (Stevenson), Greycen Ren (Stevenson), Sean Oliver (Lake Zurich) and Avanti Parkhe (Deerfield) tied for first; Chad Oliver (Lake Zurich), Radha Patel (Stevenson) and Andrew Ding (Stevenson) tied for second; and John Chen (Lake Zurich) third.          

Chemistry winners were Allen Ding (Stevenson) and Joshua Tang (Deerfield) tied for first; Chad Oliver (Lake Zurich), Richard Yin (Stevenson) and Daniel Thomas (Stevenson) tied for second; and Eric Gan (Stevenson), Thomas Yun (Lake Zurich) and Avanti Parkhe (Deerfield) tied for third.          

Computer Science winners were Joshua Tang (Deerfield) first; Andrew Gan (Stevenson) second; and Ranadheer Tripuraneni (Lake Zurich) third.

 Engineering Graphics winners were Thomas Yun (Lake Zurich) first; Carter Nelson (Deerfield) second; and Alex Cooper (Lake Zurich) and Akash Kumar (Stevenson) third.

English winners were Sophie Henry (Deerfield) first; Philena Liu (Stevenson) second; and Radha Patel (Stevenson) and Jeremy Lu (Deerfield ) tied for third.

Math winners were Eric Gan (Stevenson) and Dylan Hu (Stevenson) tied for first; Joseph Rivkin (Stevenson) second; and Amy Deng (Deerfield), Jake Duffy (Libertyville) and Philena Liu (Stevenson) tied for third.

Physics winners were Joshua Tsai (Stevenson) first; Jared Machtinger (Stevenson) second; and Tony Tan Tony Tan (Stevenson) third.


Division 1,500 Individual Results


Biology winners were Itamar Shifrin (Vernon Hills) first; Riya Verma (Vernon Hills) second; and Nick Brunn (Wauconda) and Nathan Moretta (Wauconda) tied for third. 

Chemistry winners were Andrew Katchmar (Wauconda) and Nathan Moretta (Wauconda) tied for 1st; Alexa Pomerantz (Vernon Hills), Rachel Liu (Vernon Hills) and Alan Tondryk (Wauconda) tied for second; and Josh Adisumarta (Grayslake Central) third.

Computer Science winners were Jake Ryan (Grayslake Central ) first; Teresa Dong (Vernon Hills) and Nic Beaumont (Vernon Hills) tied for second; and Josh Feryance (Wauconda) third.

Engineering Graphics winners were Adeline Evans (Grayslake Central) first; Jake Ryan (Grayslake Central), Josh Feryance (Wauconda) and Josh Akin (Grayslake Central) tied for second; and Primo Zipfel (Grayslake Central) third.  

English winners were Lily Meng (Vernon Hills) first; Cecilia Gao (Vernon Hills) and Ben Gorashchenko (Vernon Hills) tied for second; and Jake Gately (Grasylake Central), Mary Veliyanthukudy (Grayslake  Central) and Esther Cha ( Vernon Hills) tied for third.

Math winners were Jeffrey Zhang (Vernon Hills) first; Alexa Pomerantz (Vernon Hills) second; and Tyler Tran (Vernon Hills) and Loren Liss (Vernon Hills) tied for third.

Physics winners were Nic Beaumont (Vernon Hills) first; Alice Zhang (Vernon Hills) second; and Jeffrey Zhang (Vernon Hills) and Loren Liss (Vernon Hills) tied for third.

The teams were coached by Joshua Ravenscraft and Sarah Stoub (Vernon Hills), Dave Schmitz (Wauconda), Martin Esgar (Deerfield), Debra Hofer (Grayslake Central), Anne Hopkins (Lake Zurich), Peter Dawson (Libertyville) and Andrew Richardson (Stevenson).

CLC faculty members Rob Twardock (Engineering transfer) and Dr. Ana Mazilu (physics) served as coordinators for the competition, which is held annually at the college. “Each year we consistently get comments from team coaches that CLC’s regional competition is one of the best academic competitions they attend,” Twardock said. High school academic teams interested in participating in next year’s competition, to be held in February 2020 at CLC, should contact Twardock at (847) 543-2903 or Schools can learn more about the competition by visiting the EIU Academic Challenge Website at website at Students or parents interested in more information about the Engineering Program at CLC should visit the Engineering home page at or contact Twardock or Dr. Mazilu at (847) 543-2000.


About College of Lake County

College of Lake County is an innovative community college in Lake County, Ill. that transforms lives with its variety of accessible, quality education options. Offered at three campuses in Grayslake, Vernon Hills and Waukegan or online, College of Lake County provides affordable options in a state-of-the-art setting close to home. A large student network, with small class sizes, provides advantages to our students on a career-related program or a path toward a transfer degree. We’re proud to serve the diverse needs of our community and student body. Connect to your future today at College of Lake County.